The 2017 QPSRLA State Championships were held at Pizzey Park on the Gold Coast from Monday 27 March to Friday 31 March.


Round one         Tuesday 28 March

Game 1               Brisbane Bulldogs 22 defeated Wide Bay Crocs 16

Game 2               Central Queensland Razorbacks 42 defeated Far North Queensland Marlins 22

Game 3               Northern Stingers 24 defeated South East Muddies 18

Game 4               Mount Isa Mongrels drew Southern Boars 16 (Mongrels won on 1st try scorer rule)


Central Queensland Razorbacks, Mount Isa Mongrels, Brisbane Bulldogs and the Northern Stingers progressed to the semi-finals.


South East Muddies Southern Boars, Far North Queensland Marlins and the Wide Bay Crocs progressed to the Plate Final play-offs.


Round Two        Wednesday 29 March

Game 1               South East Muddies 38 defeated the Southern Boars nil

Game 2               Wide Bay Crocs 40 defeated Far North Queensland Marlins 6

Game 3               Central Queensland Razorbacks 38 defeated Mount Isa Mongrels 10

Game 4               Northern Stingers 26 defeated Brisbane Bulldogs nil


The Central Queensland Razorbacks and the Northern Stingers progressed to the Grand Final.

South East Muddies and the Wide Bay Crocs progressed to the plate final.

Brisbane Bulldogs and the Mount Isa Mongrels were to contest 3 v 4.


Finals                  Friday 31 March


Due to the weather event involving former tropical cyclone Deborah and the amount of rain that fell on the Gold Coast over the preceding two days only  the grand final could be played.


The Plate Final was declared a draw between the Muddies and the Crocs (Crocs victorius in a boat race and will be recorded as winning).


Grand Final     Central Queensland Razorbacks 22 defeated the Northern Stingers 20


Defensive Player of the Carnival – winner of the Peter Edwards Shield – Steve Holland – South East Muddies


Player of the Final –  winner of the Darren Lees Trophy – Matt Resch – Central Queensland Razorbacks


Player of the Carnival -winner of the John Weier Medal – Andrew Dunkley – Central Queensland Razorbacks