Wide Bay Crocs


2010 State Champions – Wide Bay Crocs

RegionDistricts Represented: North Coast Police RegionRedcliffe, Caboolture, Sunshine Coast, Gympie, Maryborough
& Bundaberg
Emblem/Logo: The Mighty Croc 
Colours: Red, Black, Grey & White 
Year Established: 1987
Contact Names:President:

Vice President:



Station: Phone:
D/Sgt Tom Dawson Noosa CPIU 54475888
D/Sgt Dan Collins Redcliffe CPIU 33854022
PCSC Adam Pascoe Kingaroy CPIU 41604900
Supt. Terry Borland Sunshine Coast District
Sgt. Glenn Peatling Caboolture 54950449
Proudly Sponsored By:


See full size image

History:  The Wide Bay Police Rugby League Club was founded in 1987 and competed in the inaugural Queensland Police State Championships at the Gold Coast under the name the of Wide Bay Whales. The club represents the North Coast Police Region which covers from Bundaberg in the north to Redcliffe in the south. Since that time Wide Bay has competed in every state carnival with significant success being crowned State Champions in 1994, 1996, 1998 and more recently in 2010.


Under the name Wide Bay Whales the club created a great culture of sportsmanship, competitiveness and comradely with each tour creating more stories of hard competition and sometimes harder off field fellowship. Greats including former Australian Rugby League Captain and Qld Police Officer Mal Meninga have worn the Wide Bay Whales jersey with pride (1996 – Townsville) and players have maintained these traditions over the years with many going on to represent Qld and Australian Police representative sides.


2001 saw great change for Wide Bay Police Rugby League Club with the acquisition of its long term major sponsor the Australia Zoo and its final year playing under the name the Whales. Although the Whales lost their final game being the State Final to Brisbane they went out fighting and in true Whales spirit.


In 2002 the Australia Zoo signed a long term sponsorship commitment which guaranteed the clubs continued financial position and the Club changed its name to the Wide Bay Crocs. Under the ‘Crocs’ the traditions of the ‘Whales’ have been maintained and not forgotten with annual ‘Whales’ initiation ceremonies still conducted with new players being taught, “What sound a Whale makes,” and to be ‘Proud of their Spout’.


The club has hosted 4 state carnivals in Hervey Bay (1990), Noosa (1999), Bundaberg (2006) and more recently in Kingaroy (2010). In Bundaberg in 2006 the ‘Crocs’ brought another dimension to the game by securing the services of NRL refereeing legend and ex NSW police officer Bill Harrigan to referee the Championship final and then spin a few yarns and sing a song or 2 as guest speaker at the Championship dinner.


The 2010 Wide Bay Crocs were represented by a solid forward pack setting a foundation for a skilful backline resulting in an undefeated carnival and a much awaited Queensland Police State Championship on home soil. The traditions will continue as we prepare for Brisbane in 2011.


Interested players are asked to contact members of the Crocs committee regarding the next tour.


Life Members: Michael ‘Zerox’ PhelanGlenn “Chalkey’ PEATLING


Carnivals Attended:  1987 – 2001 (Wide Bay Whales)2002 to present (Wide Bay Crocs)


Titles Won:  Title: Year:
State Champions 1994, 1996, 1998 & 2010
Runners Up 1991 & 2001
Plate Winners 1995, 2005, 2006, 2007 & 2009
Plate Runners Up 1990, 1993 & 2008
Carnivals Hosted:  1990 (Hervey Bay), 1999 (Noosa), 2006 (Bundaberg) &
2010 (Kingaroy)
Players who have attended 10 State Carnivals or more:  Jon Lewis, Michael Phelan, Glenn Peatling, Guy Harvey,
Blair Doran, Steve McReight, Pat Ryan, David Batt, Terry Borland and Jason
Players who have attended 20 State Carnivals or more:    Michael Phelan, Mark Wright and Glenn Peatling
Qld Police Representatives:  Year: Player/s:
1947 Stan Edmonds
1998 Glenn Peatling (c), Guy Hinze, Shannon Renouf, Michael
Phelan, Selwyn Button & Chris Stewart
1999 Guy Hinze, Shannon Renouf, Blair Doran & Sean Chapman
2000 Guy Hinze & Blair Doran
2001 Blair Doran & Guy Harvey
2002 Ashley Brown
2003 Adrian Massingham, Brad Inskip & Mick Polit
2004 Sven Dart, Mick Polit, Simon Taylor & Glenn Peatling
2005 Mick Polit & Ben Sawden
2006 Nick Paterson
2007 Mick Polit & Josh Compton
2008 Nick Paterson
2009 Nick Paterson, Andrew McKie & Shannon DOWD
2010 Andrew McKie, Nick Paterson, Marc Rodgers, John Borland,
Sean Halliday, Mick Polit, Chris Murill, Dan McMah
2011 Andrew McKie, Nickolas Paterson, Daniel McMah
Aust. Police Representatives:  Year: Player/s:
1998 Glenn Peatling (vc), Shannon Renouf & Chris Stewart
1999 Shannon Renouf
2003 Brad Inskip (c) & Adrian Massingham
2004 Adrian Massingham
2005 Mick Polit
2007 Mick Polit, Adam Pascoe & Vinnie Terare
2008 Nick Paterson
2010 Andrew McKie, Nick Paterson, Marc Rodgers, Sean Halliday,
Dan McMah
2011 Andrew McKIE, Nicholas Paterson, Dan McMah, John Borland

2008 Wide Bay Crocs

2009 Wide Bay Crocs